Exploring European works of art from the Middle Ages through the mid-20th Century

The Visiting Committee for European Sculpture and Decorative Arts explores European works of art from the Middle Ages through the mid 20th century in all their variety: the picture frame as well as the picture, the sculpture and the table it sits on, the carpet on the floor and the parquet underneath. Our diverse membership includes active collectors, scholars, and enthusiasts committed to increasing their knowledge of the decorative arts and sculpture through varied programs and travel opportunities. With our funds, the Visiting Committee supports programs and acquisitions for the Detroit Institute of Arts' world-renowned collections. 


For more information contact Dr. Chassica Kirchhoff, assistant curator of European Sculpture and Decorative Arts at ckirchhoff@dia.org or (313) 833-3832.

Membership Benefits


Connoisseurship Seminars

Study sessions conducted by scholars, dealers, curators, and collectors, offer opportunities to explore such issues as design process, manufacture, conservation, and the market for sculpture and the decorative arts.


Public lectures by prominent scholars, dealers, and collectors that compliment connoisseurship seminars.

Trips and Tours

Exclusive tours of public and rarely seen private collections, whether locally, in other American cities, or abroad.

Members-Only Museum Previews and Tours

Private previews of special exhibitions, escorted by exhibition organizers and curators, and "behind-the-scenes" tours.


Membership Levels

Membership Level Annual Dues
Supporting - Individual $50
Supporting - Dual $100
Governing - Individual $500
Governing - Dual $1,000
Sustaining - Individual $1,000
Sustaining - Dual $2,000

Join/Renew Membership

In order to be eligible for membership in VCESDA, you must be a member of The Detroit Institute of Arts.


  • Charles Dunlap, Chair
  • Michele Rambour Glenn, Secretary
  • Mary Massaron, Assistant Secretary
  • Linda S. Popoff, Membership Chair
  • George Nyman, Treasurer
  • Diana S. Golden, Education Chair

Board Members

  • Judy Anderson
  • Joanne Brodie
  • Maureen D'Avanzo
  • Mark Haimann
  • Elizabeth A. DuMouchelle
  • Jo-Elyn Nyman
  • Christine Provost
  • Fair Radom

Professional Staff

  • Alan Darr, Senior Curator
  • Celeste Goedert, Administrative Assistant
  • Kimberly Barrow, Associate Director of Membership